Stacks Image 101263
County Commission
77 Fairfax Street, Room 101
Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Phone: (304)258-8540 Fax: (304)258-7305
Hours: Mon.-Fri. 9:00am - 5:00pm


The Morgan County Commission meeting scheduled for July 18 has been cancelled.  The Commission will meet on August 1 as regularly scheduled.
Joel Tuttle - President
Bob Ford - Commissioner
Ken Reed - Commissioner

Commissioner Ford-
Commissioner Reed-  

Resolution & Support Letter signed by the County Commission in support of the Rt 522 Bypass- 5/2/2018

Support Letter for the Better Utilizing Investments to Leverage Development Transportation Grant Program for the funding to be utilized for constructing the US 522 four-lane highway bypass around Berkeley Springs, WV- 7/5/2018

Memorandum of Understanding between the Morgan County Commission and Economic Development Authority of Morgan County for the marketing, sale/transer of Green Street Elementary School/Community Center Building
On May 2, 2018, the Morgan County Commission and the Morgan County Economic Development Authority hereby establishes the framework and individual responsibiliities that will govern both parties' collaborative effort to sell/transfer the Green Street Elementary School/ Community Center Building and the lot on which it is located.  Click here for the MOU

Stacks Image 69
Counties of West Virginia are under State control and are considered subdivisions of State government. Authority to perform functions is spelled out in the West Virginia Constitution and Legislative enactments.

"County courts" (County Commission) "are the central governing body of the county." (Code, 7-1-1, 7-1-3, 7-1-5, 7-7-7)

West Virginia Code 7-1-1 "The county court or tribunal in lieu thereof" (County Commission) "of every county within the State of West Virginia shall be a corporation by the name of 'The county court of (Morgan) county,' Every county court shall consist of three commissioners as provided in section 22, article VIII of the Constitution of the State of West Virginia,."the term 'county court' or any reference to a county court shall include all tribunals created in lieu of the county court '" (County Commission).

"West Virginia Constitution, article IX, chapter 9, re-designated the office of the county court as county commission."

The County Commission is a three member elective body. The term of office for each Commission member is six years, with one term expiring every two years.

The primary function of the County Commission is the general supervision of the county's financial affairs. The Commission prepares the county's annual budget and sets the property tax rate. Spending of budget monies depends a great deal on the County Commission's approval and payment of bills presented for payment by the county. The laws specify that no money shall be spent in excess of the amount allowed in the budget.

Each year in February, the County Commission sits as a Board of Equalization and Review, at which time the Commissioners review the work of the County Assessor and hear taxpayer complaints about county taxes.

The County Commission watches over and judges county election procedures and returns. Their involvement in elections includes dividing magisterial districts into precincts, providing ballot boxes, designating election officials and canvassing and certifying the vote count.

The County Commission's judicial functions are limited to settlement of accounts (probate). The Commission is responsible for the construction, maintenance and security of county buildings including the security of the County Courthouse.

The County Commission also establishes and/or makes appointments to various county boards, authorities and commissions (some of which are multi-county in jurisdiction and in joint effort). View a list of these
Boards , along with meeting and holiday schedules.

To be placed on an agenda, contact Ginger Johnson, Commission Secretary 304-258-8540 ext 1304
Stacks Image 76493